Homeschooling

I don’t post on here often enough.  Mainly my time has been spent over at Mom 4ce.  However, I have decided to remedy that because I love this little blog and the fact that I can write about ANYTHING over here.

We have moved to the Austin area and with that move came many questions around us homeschooling.  We prayed a lot about putting the boys in school out here.  The schools are some of the best, it would free up some of my time, the bus stop is literally right in front of our house.  However, the more we prayed the more we heard God say, “No.”  I wouldn’t admit it at the time to anyone but I was so happy that God said no.  I love homeschooling!  Yes, it takes up a lot of my time but I have thoroughly enjoyed watching the kids learn and grow.  I love mornings like today where while making breakfast one of the boys grabs a library book and then all of the kids are sitting at the table reading about lizards!  FYI, that does not happen every morning and my kids are just normal kids.

On Tuesday we had ice, yes in Austin, so Rusty worked from home and he helped Kamron with math.  I watched him struggle to grasp the concept of double digit multiplication with the determination of a general leading his men to war.  The satisfaction that we all felt when everything clicked was something I will cherish forever.  The ability to slow down our days and lessons when grasping a concept is elusive or a way of teaching isn’t working is why we homeschool.

There are also those days that I worry if my kids are getting enough.  Don’t we all worry about that?  Then, I look at my kids and remember that my job is to raise them the way that I was called to and that is good enough.

Leave a Reply

