My 25 Day Failure

I thought that it would be fun to do a 25 days of Christmas activity this year.  I sat down with the kids and wrote out a list of fun activities to do as a family.  Some of them were simple like watch Rudolph, look at Christmas lights, or play board games and listen to carols.  Others involved more work but were still doable like make ornaments, go to the Live Nativity at church, or adopt an angel from The Angel Tree.  Then I sat down with our calendar and my husband and tried to place all of these activities into our schedule.  So far we have done most of the simple activities and I have rescheduled quite a few of the more complicated activities.  (Come on be honest, you saw that coming!) 

Here’s the thing though.  All I have done is pile in a lot of “stuff” into our schedule. I haven’t made amazing memories with our kids; I have made memories for my kids of a crazy stressed out mom frustrated because everything isn’t “perfect.”  I have made Christmas something I detest.  So I have slowed down and chosen to not be stressed, crazy, or frustrated if things aren’t perfect.  We are focusing on a babe in an imperfect manger on one perfect night.  That is what I want my kids to remember.  All of the other things aren’t bad and we will get to most of them but if we don’t, I’m not going to beat myself up. 

What are you doing this month?

One thought on “My 25 Day Failure

  1. Your story today about answered prayer for snow is precious. They will remember it their whole life. But your story on Dec 9 caught my attention as well. In the years ahead, you will find it humorous to know the things your children remember about the holidays. It’s good you are making a positive effort and they will remember that special Rudolph movie or seeing the spectacular lights in the neighborhood, but they will also remember the silly things they did to make baby sister laugh (or perhaps cry)! They will remember the times Mom & Dad said “good job” or I love you because…….. Life is fragile and time passes oh so quickly – keep it rolling!

Leave a comment